Server End of Year Tasks 3: Remove Deactivated Accounts

As we move one day closer to the end of the year, it is increasingly important that you take some time to look at your server and find out what needs improving. You might also want to do some general house keeping, especially if you have neglected these clean-up tasks throughout the course of the long year. One such task is removing old, deactivated accounts.

What usually happens is that a user or customer leaves or does something to get his account suspended. Because there is a chance that he or she might come back, you do not delete the account right away. Do this often enough, and you will wind up with droves of stale users taking up disk space. The end of the year is a great time to clear out those users and make room for new ones.

The only real question you might want to ask yourself is if you are sure the user you are deleting is not coming back. That will usually depend on the circumstances. In most situations, those users who are valuable enough that you would consider keeping their accounts around even after a year will be quite apparent to you. Aside from that, removing the users should be pretty straightforward and should not cause any problems in the future.