How to Disable or Completely Delete Linux Server Users

Disabling a user account can be very useful if the account has been compromised, the user has left but may return in the future, or for punitive purposes. To disable a user on a Linux system, you can use the following command string:
# usermod –lock –expiredate 1970-01-01 <username>
Replace <username> with the actual user’s […]

How to Delete Users from Your Server

Part of the regular housekeeping of a dedicated server is cleaning out remnants of past users.  The last thing you want is for former users (especially former employees) to continue to log onto your server.  This is especially dangerous if you had given them SSH access.
The solution is to delete users as soon as they […]